Amy Green’s Simply Sugar & Gluten Free Cookbook Review (Plus Peanut Butter Hot Fudge Cake Recipe)

amy green, simply sugar & gluten free, cookbook, review, giveaway

Most of you know my friend Amy Green from her blog, Simply Sugar and Gluten Free. Amy’s reasons for eating refined sugar free and gluten free are pretty compelling, and her recipes are very popular. I love following gluten-free (and other allergen-free) success stories and Amy’s is one of the most encouraging and inspiring. You can read about Amy’s journey on her About page and in her Lifelong Journey with Food.  You can even see Amy share her journey in Stephanie O’Dea’s Gluten-Free TV interview with her here.

Several months ago Amy’s cookbook, Simply Sugar and Gluten Free: 180 Easy Recipes You Can Make in 20 Minutes or Less, was published. Amy and her publisher provided me a copy for review. I read Amy’s cookbook right away, but it took me a while to get to actually make a recipe. The wait was well worth it (as it usually is in such cases), but let’s dispense with a few “nits” and then we’ll move on to the good stuff, some REALLY good stuff!

Although Amy’s cookbook has a 5-star rating on Amazon, some folks have taken issue with the term “Sugar Free” in the title because they don’t consider Amy’s recipes sugar free, but rather refined sugar free. Amy’s book title is in keeping with her blog title and on her blog she states that her recipes are “refined sugar free.”  

The title of Amy’s cookbook states that the recipes can be made in “20 Minutes or Less.” This wording is misleading. That time allotment refers to the recipe preparation only. All recipes are not actually ready in 20 minutes or less, but the “easy and delicious” part is correct (as you’ll see in a moment).

There are no photos. Some dislike cookbooks without photos; others find it freeing because their results don’t have to match perfect photos. The truth is that color photos can add greatly to the cost of a book. Amy’s cookbook has been a bargain at about $10 or so from the beginning. Plus, there are many great cookbooks—even classics like The Joy of Cooking—which contain no photos.

The cookbook states that Bragg Liquid Aminos are soy free. That is an error. As stated on Bragg’s site, “Bragg Liquid Amino is a Certified NON-GMO liquid protein concentrate, derived from healthy soybeans.” However, just FYI, Coconut Secret Coconut Aminos are soy free and gluten free.

It’s also stated that honey always crystallizes. That statement is not true, although it’s often stated. We raise honeybees and in our 29 years of marriage and beekeeping together, our bees’ honey has never crystallized. Crystallization is dependent upon water content in the nectar that the bees collect, humidity in the environment and hive itself, etc.

Okay, let’s get to the good stuff in Amy’s cookbook and there’s a lot! The recipes include: breakfasts; starters and snacks; spreads and condiments; simple soups; salads; main dishes; side dishes; cookies and bars; cobblers, crisps, and pies; cupcakes and cakes; fast frostings; mousses, puddings, and custards; and frozen desserts. While great tips are shared throughout within the recipes, there’s also a kitchen guide at the end of the book that addresses flours, other ingredients, kitchen storage, kitchen equipment, tips for gluten-free pasta, conversions, substitutions, resources, product resources, and recommended reading. Amy also shares an extensive thank you section. I’m very honored to be listed. Amy and I have collaborated on several great projects the last couple of years, including the Gluten-Free Holiday extravaganza last year. Most weeks I’ve also linked up to Amy’s very popular Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays roundup, which features recipes made a little bit healthier. (Note that the recipes for this roundup are not all gluten free.)

I’ve made a number of Amy’s recipes from her blog or used her ideas in my own cooking. I’ve never been disappointed. Her Oven Roasted Okra actually got me to love okra … if cooked Amy’s way. Now that was akin to achieving the impossible dream, but it happened thanks to Amy. Now I’m actually looking forward to getting more okra at our beloved farmers market this year.

Of all the recipes in the Simply Sugar and Gluten Free Cookbook, one spoke my name more clearly than the others, Peanut Butter Hot Fudge Cake. Peanut Butter Hot Fudge Cake made in the slow cooker, no less—a pudding cake. Yes, I could clearly hear “Shirley, Shirley …” emanating from Amy’s book. This is a cake that is easily made per Amy’s recipe or even with slightly different ingredients on hand. For example, I used regular cocoa instead of Dutch-processed cocoa and coconut oil instead of canola oil. Amy stated that the cake would take 1 to 2 hours and in my large oval Rival crockpot, it was done in exactly 1 ½ hours. When I took my first bite of this cake, I truly could not believe how good it tasted. Unbelievably good! But you best make this cake for a crowd, otherwise you will not just be slightly indulgent, you will be VERY INDULGENT.

Peanut Butter Hot Fudge Cake (Slow Cooker)
Author: 
 
Ingredients
  • ½ cup gluten-free all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup plus 1 tbsp palm sugar, divided
  • ¾ tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • ¼ tsp kosher salt
  • ⅛ tsp xanthan gum
  • ⅓ cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp canola oil (I used coconut oil)
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup smooth sugar-free peanut butter (I used Jif Natural)
  • ¼ cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s regular unsweetened cocoa)
  • ¼ tsp instant decaf coffee granules
  • 1¼ cups very hot (not boiling!) water
Instructions
  1. Coat a medium (4-quart) or large (5- to 6-quart) slow cooker with cooking spray. The smaller your slow cooker, the thicker your cake will be and the longer it will need to cook.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour blend, ¼ cup palm sugar, the baking powder, salt, and xanthan gum. In a medium bowl, whisk together the almond milk, oil, and vanilla. In a microwave-safe bowl, microwave the peanut butter for 20 to 30 seconds, just until softened and easy to stir. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, then stir in the warm peanut butter.
  3. Evenly spread the batter in the bottom of the prepared slow cooker. The batter will be thick.
  4. In the same bowl you used to mix the batter, whisk together the cocoa powder, remaining ¼ cup plus 1 tablespoon palm sugar, and coffee granules. Carefully pour the hot water into the cocoa mixture and whisk until smooth. Pour on top of the batter in the slow cooker. Do not mix.
  5. Cover and cook on high for 1 to 2 hours, checking after 1 hour. The cake is done when a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Serve warm or cold.
Notes
Though mixing the batter and the fudge in the same bowl may at first seem like the wrong thing to do, it doesn’t harm the recipe at all. All the ingredients are going in the same place, and it saves dishwashing time later on.


Recipe courtesy of Amy Green and Ulysses Press

Notes in parentheses were added by me, Shirley Braden, to indicate how I made this recipe.

UPDATE: This giveaway is now closed. In addition to the giveaway of the complementary cookbook from Amy and her publisher, I also purchased two more copies so three copies are being given away. Thanks to all who entered and congratulations to Megan, Saretta, and Debra Z! Stay tuned for more giveaways at gfe. I’m still celebrating my birthday and living gluten free, so I like to share the wealth.

Now let’s give away a copy of Simply Sugar and Gluten Free:  180 Easy and Delicious Recipes You Can Make in 20 Minutes or Less to one lucky gfe reader!

The giveaway ends Friday, July 22, at midnight Eastern. To enter, do at least one of the following:

~ Take a look inside Simply Sugar & Gluten Free and leave a comment on which recipe looks most appealing to you.

~ Share the giveaway on Facebook and/or Twitter. Leave a comment.

~ Follow Amy on Twitter. Leave a comment.

~ Like Simply Sugar & Gluten Free on Facebook. Leave a comment.

~ Follow gfe on Twitter. Leave a comment.

~ Like gfe on Facebook. Leave a comment.

~ Subscribe to gfe via reader or email.

Check out these other reviews of Amy’s book, some of which also feature recipes from her cookbook:

Alta (Tasty Eats At Home) made Amy’s Fig and Date Bars here.

Kim (Cook IT Allergy Free) made Amy’s Buckwheat Crepes here.

This post is linked to Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays and In My Gluten-Free Kitchen–Sharing Sundays.

Full disclosure: The copy of the book I reviewed and the copy that will be given away were both provided free of charge from Amy Green and Ulysses Press. This is not a compensated review and the opinions expressed within are my own.

Shirley
Not just gf, but gfe!

Full Disclosure/Disclaimer: This post may contain one or more affiliate links. If you purchase through them, your cost will always be the same, but I will receive a small commission. Thanks for the support! Read the full disclaimer here.

Comments

140 Responses to “Amy Green’s Simply Sugar & Gluten Free Cookbook Review (Plus Peanut Butter Hot Fudge Cake Recipe)”

  1. Janell Garwood on July 18th, 2011 11:06 pm

    I would love to try the donuts! Yum!

  2. Janell Garwood on July 18th, 2011 11:07 pm

    I “like” Amy on facebook!

  3. Janell Garwood on July 18th, 2011 11:07 pm

    I “like”gfe on facebook!

  4. Kristi Richards on July 18th, 2011 11:26 pm

    I love scones so I would love to try out her Rustic Cinnamon and Raisin Scone recipe!
    I also shared the giveaway on FB.
    I ‘liked’ SF&GF on FB! (I already ‘like’ gfe on FB)
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  5. Kelly Smith on July 18th, 2011 11:35 pm

    I would like to try the apple carrot breakfast cake! I reposted the giveaway on FB and “liked” the SF&GF on FB as well.

    Excited to find more ways to reduce eliminate sugar!

  6. Meghan on July 18th, 2011 11:45 pm

    Rustic Cinnamon Raisin Scones and Raw Apple Pie Bites! They sound so good; I couldn’t decide between the two

  7. Vanessa M on July 18th, 2011 11:48 pm

    I follow gfe on facebook :-)

  8. Vanessa M on July 18th, 2011 11:49 pm

    I follow Simply Sugar& Gluten Free on facebook, as well

  9. Vanessa M on July 18th, 2011 11:53 pm

    Pear and Spinach Salad with Lemon Truffle Vinaigrette- omg yes please!

  10. Jacquelyn on July 19th, 2011 12:33 am

    OH MY I cant wait to try the Buckewheat Crepes.. My hubby is a crepe fan and we are sugar and white free, so these look great!! I hope I win so I can play and eat our way thru your book!!

  11. Jacquelyn on July 19th, 2011 12:37 am

    I reposted the giveaway on FB

  12. Jacquelyn on July 19th, 2011 12:38 am

    I already “liked” the SF&GF

  13. Jacquelyn on July 19th, 2011 12:39 am

    I already “liked” the gfe on FB!!

  14. Jacquelyn on July 19th, 2011 12:39 am

    I SUBSCRIBED!! ty

  15. kwei-mei anderson on July 19th, 2011 1:06 am

    I want to made the donuts!!

  16. saretta on July 19th, 2011 4:07 am

    I would love to have a copy of this book. Is your giveaway open internationally? I think the Healthy Morning Muffins sound delish!

    • Shirley on July 19th, 2011 6:05 am

      Saretta–Yes, it’s open internationally! :-) I have a lot of wonderful international readers like you, so whenever possible, the giveaways are open internationally. And I agree, Healthy Morning Muffins sound great. I just took a look and I could even make that recipe this morning … hmmm.

      Hugs,
      Shirley

  17. saretta on July 19th, 2011 4:10 am
  18. saretta on July 19th, 2011 4:10 am

    Following Amy on Twitter as sarettagd!

  19. saretta on July 19th, 2011 4:11 am

    Following gfe on twitter as sarettagd!

  20. saretta on July 19th, 2011 4:12 am

    Like gfe on Facebook as Sara Donahue!

  21. Katrina (gluten free gidget) on July 19th, 2011 4:52 am

    I’m going to have to go with the chicken posole stew. YUM!

  22. Molly Ongaro on July 19th, 2011 6:26 am

    I really can’t just pick only one recipe that looks most appealing!! But the one that caught my eye first and sounds intriguing is the Chocolate Avocado Frosting. yumm!!!

  23. Molly Ongaro on July 19th, 2011 6:27 am

    I now follow Amy on Twitter!

  24. Molly Ongaro on July 19th, 2011 6:29 am

    I “like” gfe on facebook!! :) and in real life

  25. Molly Ongaro on July 19th, 2011 6:31 am

    I follow “gfe” on Twitter!

  26. Molly Ongaro on July 19th, 2011 6:32 am

    I could not find Simply Sugar and Gluten Free on facebook in order to “like” it :(

  27. Molly Ongaro on July 19th, 2011 6:34 am

    I shared the link on Facebook :)

  28. Heather Brandt on July 19th, 2011 7:36 am

    I’d like to try cinnamon raisin scones.

  29. Heather Brandt on July 19th, 2011 7:38 am

    I liked simply sugar & gluten free on fb.

  30. Sue on July 19th, 2011 8:06 am

    I would love to try Amy’s French Onion Soup.

    I like you both everywhere! On FB and Twitter!

  31. Jeanette on July 19th, 2011 8:20 am

    Terrific, honest review Shirley! I would love to try Amy’s Plum Quinoa Crumble.

  32. Sharon on July 19th, 2011 8:24 am

    The donuts sound so good. I’ve also heard great things about her sugar free ketchup recipe. Would love this book!

  33. Sharon on July 19th, 2011 8:25 am

    I follow gfe on twitter

  34. Sharon on July 19th, 2011 8:26 am

    I like gfe on facebook.

  35. Sharon on July 19th, 2011 8:27 am

    I follow sf&gf on facebook

  36. Sharon on July 19th, 2011 8:28 am

    I follow sf&gf on twitter

  37. Kahri Lynn on July 19th, 2011 8:28 am

    The Crepes in the cook book caught my eye right away! That was always my birthday breakfast but I haven’t tried them since going gluten free!

  38. Sharon on July 19th, 2011 8:29 am

    I subscribe to your emails.

  39. Sharon on July 19th, 2011 8:35 am

    I tweeted the giveaway.

  40. Kahri Lynn on July 19th, 2011 8:35 am

    I follow GFE on FB

  41. Kahri Lynn on July 19th, 2011 8:36 am

    I follow GFE on Twitter. :-)

  42. Kahri Lynn on July 19th, 2011 8:36 am

    I now follow Amy on Twitter

  43. Kahri Lynn on July 19th, 2011 8:36 am

    I posted about the giveaway on FB

  44. Kahri Lynn on July 19th, 2011 8:37 am

    I also posted about it on Twitter! :-)

  45. Kahri Lynn on July 19th, 2011 8:38 am

    And I liked the cookbook on FB!

  46. Dawn on July 19th, 2011 9:49 am

    Looks like a great cookbook to add to my collection!! I would love to try the Chewy Ganola Bar recipe, and also the Vanilla Bean Ice Cream recipe!

  47. Dawn on July 19th, 2011 9:49 am

    I like ‘gfe’ on FB!

  48. Kristin on July 19th, 2011 9:50 am

    I already like gfe on FB

  49. Dawn on July 19th, 2011 9:50 am

    I like ‘simply sugar and gluten free’ on FB!

  50. Kristin on July 19th, 2011 9:51 am

    I already like simply sugar & gluten free on fb

  51. Kristin on July 19th, 2011 9:54 am

    Oh without a doubt the pudding cake recipe you posted! I had a great Gluten FULL recipe that we loved, I have made a GF version that was good but not the best so I am still looking for a good gf one so this is on my must try list this weekend. Thanks for a great giveaway.

  52. Debra Z on July 19th, 2011 10:15 am

    I would really want to make the cake donuts. They sound so delicious!

  53. Debra Z on July 19th, 2011 10:16 am

    I already subscribe to GFE via reader! :)

  54. Ricki on July 19th, 2011 10:22 am

    Hi Shirley,

    Don’t enter me in the giveaway (I got my own copy when I did my review) but wanted to say great post–a really detailed summary of all the info and a fab recipe (which I guess I missed–and will now make asap with almond butter!).

  55. Sherry on July 19th, 2011 11:45 am

    Love to try the donuts!

  56. Sherry on July 19th, 2011 11:46 am

    Following you on twitter.

  57. Sherry on July 19th, 2011 11:47 am

    Following GFE on twitter (under alienwednesday)

  58. Cassidy on July 19th, 2011 11:59 am

    All of her recipes look so delicious, but I would like to try her chewy granola bars because my little boy absolutely loves granola bars and eats them all the time!

  59. Tricia on July 19th, 2011 12:15 pm

    OMG, I’d love this book, if just for the Slow-cooker pear butter recipe alone! That said, I really want to try some almond anise biscotti.

  60. Tricia on July 19th, 2011 12:15 pm

    I’m following Amy on Twitter.

  61. Tricia on July 19th, 2011 12:15 pm

    Liked SS&GF on Facebook!

  62. Tricia on July 19th, 2011 12:15 pm

    Am already following GFE on Twitter :)

  63. Tricia on July 19th, 2011 12:16 pm

    And already liked GFE on Facebook ;)

  64. Tricia on July 19th, 2011 12:16 pm

    And subscribed to GFE via RSS/Reader

  65. tina on July 19th, 2011 12:23 pm

    I email subscribed and liked gfe on Facebook!

  66. Suzanne on July 19th, 2011 12:31 pm

    The raspberry peach crisp.

  67. Suzanne on July 19th, 2011 12:32 pm

    I like SS&GF on FB.

  68. Suzanne on July 19th, 2011 12:32 pm

    I like GFE on FB.

  69. Suzanne on July 19th, 2011 12:32 pm

    I subscribe to GFE.

  70. Sheryll Ziemer on July 19th, 2011 12:33 pm

    I’ve “liked” your site on FB and have shared this link as well. Have been a fan of Amy’s for quite some time now!!! So glad she mentioned your site!

  71. Sheryll Ziemer on July 19th, 2011 12:35 pm

    I will be trying the crock pot Peanut Butter Hot Fudge Cake!

  72. Karen on July 19th, 2011 12:41 pm

    Oh my! The Pacific Northwest is the only place in the states having a cool summer this year it seems and I would LOVE to try that cake you featured using the crock pot. Looks divine…. Perfect for when the nieces and nephews come visiting. Then, I’d like to work my way through the entire book.

  73. dori on July 19th, 2011 12:51 pm

    I don’t have to look any further than the recipe you printed-my 2 favorite ingredients; peanut butter and chocolate! thanks for the chance to win!

  74. Spring on July 19th, 2011 12:54 pm

    I LIKED GFE on Facebook!

  75. Kim Pereda on July 19th, 2011 12:59 pm

    Already Like it!! I would love to win this exciting cookbook!

  76. Spring on July 19th, 2011 1:00 pm

    I like SSGF on Facebook!

  77. Spring on July 19th, 2011 1:00 pm

    I am now following Amy on twitter!

  78. Spring on July 19th, 2011 1:01 pm

    The black bean and sweet potato Mexican dishes look tasty, but I think I’d be starting with that variety of muffin recipes- we are big muffin eaters at my house!

  79. Edie on July 19th, 2011 1:01 pm

    The donuts and Belgian waffles have my stepson’s name written all over them. And the crispy prosciutto deviled eggs are all mine!

  80. Lynne on July 19th, 2011 1:02 pm

    The carob nut cups would be great for me (who can’t have gluten or sugar) and my husband (who can’t have caffeine). I substitute carob for every recipe that calls for chocolate, so I’m always looking for new ways to use carob.

  81. Jill on July 19th, 2011 1:29 pm

    I like Amy on FB!

  82. Suzanne on July 19th, 2011 1:42 pm

    The oven baked cumin lime tortilla chips sound intriguing & that’s what I’d like to make.

  83. Joy on July 19th, 2011 1:52 pm

    I now “like” gfe on Facebook! So glad I heard about you through Amy’s Facebook page!!!

  84. Amanda on July 19th, 2011 1:52 pm

    Muffins! Yum!

  85. Joy on July 19th, 2011 1:54 pm

    I signed up for e-mails from gfe! I can’t wait to try some of your recipes :) I’m a homeschooling mom of four and I need the “Easy” as well as gluten-free.

  86. Kathleen on July 19th, 2011 2:21 pm

    I subscribe to gfe via email.

  87. Melissa C. on July 19th, 2011 3:00 pm

    I would love to make the vanilla bean ice cream to serve along with this recipe, Peanut Butter Hot Fudge Cake. Both of these recipes are great for this time of year to not heat up the kitchen! I subscribed to your blog via email!

  88. Susanjam Anderson on July 19th, 2011 3:16 pm

    I really want to try your pastry cream–sounds lovely.

  89. Cindy on July 19th, 2011 3:52 pm

    I am a subscriber to your blog via email.

  90. Janis on July 19th, 2011 4:12 pm

    The peanut butter hot fudge cake sounds delicious! I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate (think Reese’s cups!). I think this is the first recipe I’d make.

  91. Janis on July 19th, 2011 4:12 pm

    I follow Amy’s blog.

  92. Jessica on July 19th, 2011 6:12 pm

    Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti. . . YUM! Oh and the Peanut butter cake you picture above! Makes my mouth water! I love Amy Green’s blog!

  93. Jessica on July 19th, 2011 6:12 pm

    I like you on FB!

  94. Jessica on July 19th, 2011 6:13 pm

    I like Simply Sugar and GF on FB!

  95. Megan on July 19th, 2011 7:06 pm

    I really want to try the Banana Oat Bars! I love eating different types of breakfast bars in the morning, and since having to go GF I sometimes find it hard to find good substitutes for what I used to eat.

  96. Megan on July 19th, 2011 7:08 pm

    I shared the contest on Facebook and I already like GFE on facebook :)

  97. Megan on July 19th, 2011 7:10 pm

    I’ve subscribed to GFE via email. I liked Simply Sugar and Gluten Free on Facebook. And unfortunately I don’t have a twitter account so I can’t do that part.

  98. charlene hobot on July 19th, 2011 8:31 pm

    What a great book! The recipe looks so yummy-I can not wait to try it. I posted link via Facebook and on Twitter..

    Char

  99. Stephanie on July 19th, 2011 9:06 pm

    Pear butter? Yes please!

  100. Lauren @ As Good As Gluten on July 19th, 2011 10:13 pm

    I follow GFE on twitter.

  101. Lauren @ As Good As Gluten on July 19th, 2011 10:14 pm

    I follow gfe on FB.

  102. Lauren @ As Good As Gluten on July 19th, 2011 10:14 pm

    I follow Amy on Twitter.

  103. Lauren @ As Good As Gluten on July 19th, 2011 10:15 pm

    I subscribe to gfe in reader.

  104. Jill on July 19th, 2011 10:16 pm

    I would love to try the Banana Walnut Belgian Waffles – I am a sucker for great breakfast foods!

  105. Michelle on July 19th, 2011 10:30 pm

    The blueberry yogurt crumb cake sounds like a hit as well as the banana walnut cake. mmm! I already liked SS&GF a while back.

  106. karendye on July 20th, 2011 9:04 am

    Deep Dish Lasagna sounds like heaven to this gluten-free Italian fan.

  107. Janelle Jordan on July 20th, 2011 10:00 am

    I liked you on fb but decided to simplify and delete my account a couple months ago. I have stayed on the feed though to check in on what is new. I am most interested in some delicious cookies and helping “sugar detox” my entire family and eat a treat without a tremendous belly ache. This whole book looks fantastic!

  108. Brittany on July 20th, 2011 2:05 pm

    I subscribe via email

  109. Gail on July 20th, 2011 9:13 pm

    I liked gfe on facebook.

  110. Cara on July 21st, 2011 7:01 am

    I subscribe to gfe in a reader. :)

  111. Cara on July 21st, 2011 7:01 am

    I am friends with simply sugar and gluten free on fb. :)

  112. Cara on July 21st, 2011 7:04 am

    I am friends with gfe on facebook. :)

  113. Cara on July 21st, 2011 7:04 am

    I think the flourless chocolate torte looks amazing! :)

  114. InTolerantChef on July 21st, 2011 7:55 am

    Had a look, but this Peanut butter Hot Fudge cake is the one I’m making tomorrow! Actually, getting my little daughter to make tomorrow, it seems so nice and easy!

  115. Rebecca @ How the Cookies Crumble on July 21st, 2011 4:43 pm

    I love the concept of this cookbook! I would love to try some gluten-free and sugar-free recipes!

  116. Rebecca @ How the Cookies Crumble on July 21st, 2011 4:44 pm

    Following Amy on Twitter @rrrrreba

  117. Rebecca @ How the Cookies Crumble on July 21st, 2011 4:45 pm

    Like’d SSGF on facebook!

  118. Rebecca @ How the Cookies Crumble on July 21st, 2011 4:46 pm

    Following GFE on Twitter @rrrrreba

  119. Rebecca @ How the Cookies Crumble on July 21st, 2011 4:46 pm

    And like GFE on Facebook!

  120. Carole on July 21st, 2011 9:03 pm

    I would like a gluten free donut recipe and to learn how to make them again with the new flours. Thank You.

  121. InTolerantChef on July 21st, 2011 9:29 pm

    The girls just made it and it’s cooking away, nice and easy. Will let you know how it goes….

  122. Gail on July 21st, 2011 9:40 pm

    Liked Simply Sugar Gluten Free on Facebook.

  123. Bonnie on July 21st, 2011 10:28 pm

    Chocolate Hazelnut Spread – a healthier version of nutella – YUM!

  124. InTolerantChef on July 22nd, 2011 12:52 am

    Took my little crockpot from the 70′s 3 hours, maybe I should have heated it up first though?- had to stop the girls from lifting the lid evry 1/2 hour too – but it tastes really lovely and they gobbled it up!
    I’d like to post a blog about it if that’s OK? Of course I’ll give you and Amy credit for the original recipe.

    • Shirley on July 22nd, 2011 4:57 pm

      Hi InTolerantChef–Yippeee on your family’s success with this recipe! :-) I’m sure it was worth the wait. I checked with Amy and she said she can’t wait to see your post. Just credit and link back to her blog, of course. And a link to me would be great, too, especially if you should happen to get up the post before the giveaway ends. ;-)

      Thanks!
      Shirley

  125. Gail on July 22nd, 2011 6:53 am

    I would love to try the Healthy Morning Muffins next. It would be great to have an extra copy of Amy’s cookbook to give to a family member.

  126. Nisha on July 22nd, 2011 8:57 am

    I want to try the Healthy morning muffins. I need a good portable breakfast as I work as nanny and am always on the go.

  127. Nisha on July 22nd, 2011 8:58 am

    I follow GFE on facebook.

  128. Nisha on July 22nd, 2011 9:01 am

    I follow GFE on twitter

  129. Nisha on July 22nd, 2011 9:01 am

    I subscribe to GFE by email

  130. sharon on July 22nd, 2011 9:02 am

    I follow on Facebook

  131. Shelley on July 22nd, 2011 9:03 am

    Healthy Morning muffins look yummy!

  132. Carol on July 22nd, 2011 9:24 am

    Yum…the pecan pie with strawberries look delish! Also liked your book on facebook and left a comment on facebook.

  133. Lisa on July 22nd, 2011 9:38 am

    i follow gfe on facebook and email…would love a copy of the book! the recipes look wonderful!

  134. Stephanie A Ferguson on July 22nd, 2011 9:42 am

    I love everything to do with breakfast, so the crepes, scones and muffins are the first things I usually look for in a new cookbook (cupcakes go without saying!) But, I would definitely make the donuts first!

  135. Sarah @ pão e queijo on July 22nd, 2011 11:45 am

    My mom is gluten free and I’m sure she’d love the blueberry crumb cake… yum!

  136. Sarah @ pão e queijo on July 22nd, 2011 11:46 am

    I am a fan of gfe on FB.

  137. Gail on July 22nd, 2011 9:10 pm

    I subscribe to gfe by e-mail and love all the wonderful recipes that Shirley has devoted so much of her time and energy to help make our gluten free lifestyle so healthy and easier to digest. Thanks Shirley

  138. Janice Marela on July 22nd, 2011 9:57 pm

    cake donuts are what I would make first and then the blueberry muffings.

Leave a reply




Related Posts with Thumbnails