Baking with Quinoa E-Cookbook from Queen of Quinoa Review and Giveaway

gluten free, treats, desserts, baking with quinoa, recipes, alyssa rimmer, queen of quinoa

Baking with Quinoa by Alyssa Rimmer (Queen of Quinoa)

E-cookbooks continue to gain popularity. They give you instant access to great recipes and are much more portable than most printed cookbooks. Today I’m sharing an e-book with a very specific gluten-free focus that has recently come to my attention. It comes to us from Alyssa of the blog The Queen of Quinoa.

Are you a fan of quinoa? It’s a super food, but many of us do not know what about it until we go gluten free. When we learn about naturally gluten-free foods that are “new” to us, especially whole foods, quinoa often comes into our lives. Although not every single recipe on Alyssa’s blog contains quinoa, most do! She’s really good at both creating recipes that use quinoa and adapting other recipes to use quinoa. Sometimes you’ll find quinoa in more than one form in the same recipe. Her new e-book is Baking with Quinoa: 25 Scrumptious Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, and Refined Sugar-Free Treats. You will find one of her recipes from this e-book, her Double Chocolate Chip Quinoa Cookies, featured over at my other site, All Gluten-Free Desserts … All the Time.

Baking with Quinoa features 25 gluten-free, dairy-free, and refined sugar-free treats. After introducing herself and telling her own personal story (I greatly appreciate personal stories!) in her e-book, Alyssa focuses on all things quinoa with a discussion on the different types of quinoa, toasting quinoa flour, and recipes in the categories of Cookies, Breads & Muffins, Cakes & Tarts, and Other Sweet Treats.

gluten free, treats, desserts, baking with quinoa, recipes, alyssa rimmer, queen of quinoa

Recipes from Baking with Quinoa by Alyssa Rimmer

Because this is our Home for the Holidays event, I asked Alyssa about living gluten free during the holidays. I think it’s really helpful to find out how others navigate living gluten free during what can be a challenging time of year.

home for the holidays, gluten free, holidays, gfe

What foods/dishes mean “home and holidays” to you? How do you prepare those foods differently now from when you ate gluten or how have you still filled the “need”/craving for certain holiday dishes over time?

Alyssa:  “For me, the holidays mean time spent with my loud Italian family eating tons of good food. For my whole life, our Christmas dinners have been centered around pasta, bread and cheese, all of which I no longer eat. So what’s a girl to do? I’ve taken the food situation into my own hands. I bring gluten-free brown rice pasta with me and always make sure to bring at least two loaves of gluten-free French bread (the recipe can be found in my e-book). I skip on the cheese, but am able to enjoy a delicious Christmas dinner along side my wonderful family.”

Alyssa is running a great special on her e-book right now, plus if you subscribe to her blog you will receive a 20% off discount. But if you’re feeling lucky, here’s the good part, she is giving THREE gfe readers a copy of Baking with Quinoa.

UPDATE:  This giveaway is now closed. The winners and their comments (selected randomly) are shown below:

lilflower:  “I like quinoa as a compliment ingredient (rather than the main ingredient) to add more protein to what is already in the recipe.”

C.M. Cole:  “I just started using quinoa recently. It’s so versatile. I’ve volunteered to help a family in the church convert to gluten free to help their recently diagnosed autistic son. This would be a real blessing to us both.”

Cindy W.:  “I have been incorporating more quinoa into my diet. Thank you for the giveaway.

To enter this giveaway, simply leave a comment sharing your favorite quinoa recipe or a recipe you’ve wanted to try that features quinoa. The giveaway ends Thursday, December 20, at midnight EST.

 

Shirley
Not just gf, but gfe!

Full Disclosure/Disclaimer: This post may contain one or more affiliate links. If you purchase through them, your cost will always be the same, but I will receive a small commission. Thanks for the support! Read the full disclaimer here.

Comments

48 Responses to “Baking with Quinoa E-Cookbook from Queen of Quinoa Review and Giveaway”

  1. Barb smith on December 18th, 2012 10:49 pm

    I have just went gluten free, dairy free and refined sugar free within the past 6 or 7 weeks. I feel great! I have a box of Quinoa in my pantry because I have read alot about it….but have no idea what to do with it yet! Glad to find this site! Thank you! Would LOVE a cookbook~~~

  2. SherriS. on December 18th, 2012 11:16 pm

    I confess that I’ve never tried quinoa though I’ve looked at it at the stores. If I’m not lucky enough to win this cookbook I will get it because it’s also sugar-free which I’m sensitive to also. I think the bread recipe looked good but I’m sure there are more goodies to be found.

  3. NancyE on December 18th, 2012 11:30 pm

    I cook it like rice and sometimes add tomato sauce and spices so it is almost like a Spanish rice. It’s also good for breakfast prepared like grits with butter and cheddar cheese. I have never tried it as a bread but I imagine it would have a nutty flavor!

  4. Satin on December 18th, 2012 11:44 pm

    I love quinoa muffins made with cooked quinoa. I usually add cooked carrots and make a cream cheese frosting. YUM!

  5. amy s on December 18th, 2012 11:46 pm

    i like quinoa in tabouli instead of cracked wheat, i like it tossed in salads, i like is instead of couscous…. i just like it.

  6. Kate on December 18th, 2012 11:58 pm

    I’m a huge quinoa fan – I love how quick and easy it is to cook, which makes it great to use in dishes like curry when I don’t have time to cook rice. I also love quinoa flakes for breakfast as a hot cereal, and also use them in baking a lot – one of my favorite recipes are quinoa banana chocolate chip cookies (http://jeanetteshealthyliving.com/2012/07/quinoa-banana-chocolate-chip-cookies.html) from Jeanette’s Healthy Living. They’re healthy enough to have with breakfast/as a snack but also make a great dessert!

  7. Beth Sloane on December 19th, 2012 12:04 am

    Just started using Quinoa.. I like it cooked then toss with sautéed yellow squash and zucchini, lots of Tony Chachere seasoning and drizzled with olive oil.. Bought some quinoa flour the other day, but only have recipe for pancakes on package.. Would love to win a cookbook!!!

  8. jenny on December 19th, 2012 12:06 am

    Thanks for the giveaway,
    I don’t have a recipe since we are new to Quinoa, but have bought some and am ready to cook.
    Hubs has been diagnosed in the past 2 weeks with esophageal cancer and we are making big food changes in our life now.
    jenny

  9. dawn caron on December 19th, 2012 12:10 am

    I have been following the queen of quinoa for several months. Quinoa piazza crust is killer! I too use it like cous cous in salads and as a hot cereal with nuts and berries and a little cinnamon and honey. I want to try the bread recipes:)

  10. Tammy Bell on December 19th, 2012 12:14 am

    I’d love to learn more about cooking with Quinoa. I’d love to know how to say “Quinoa” right too. :0) Now all I do is add it to rice and salads. But I do plan on making this recipe for Christmas Eve (haven’t tested it out yet though)…
    http://www.recipegirl.com/2012/04/02/spinach-salad-with-chicken-avocado-and-goat-cheese/ I plan on skipping the corn though and adding…yep…Quinoa! Thanks for the opportunity to learn more!!

  11. Sharon on December 19th, 2012 12:17 am

    I love my homemade ANZAC biscuits (used to be rolled oats, golden syrup, either Self-Raising or plain flour, etc) using rolled Quinoa instead of oats and GF flour. They are traditionally cooked every April. Can’t share the exact recipe though as Freedom Foods have taken it on board in their kitchen and will most likely produce them for the GF market next April. I am waiting patiently for them to send me the first sample pack, but then I can always make them myself. Would love to try other recipes using Quinoa and the photos of some of the recipes in Alyssa’s book look yum.

  12. Aliza Chana on December 19th, 2012 12:27 am

    Newish to using Quinoa, so I’d love this giveaway, but I love making pilafs with quinoa, and adding it to,casseroles and soups.

  13. Sil on December 19th, 2012 12:27 am

    Love quinoa with edamame, cilantro, corn, red pepper and lime juice…yum!

  14. Jennette K. on December 19th, 2012 12:50 am

    I am also fairly new to quinoa and to eating wheat free. Two things I am missing and would love to make with quinoa if possible are brownies and granola!

  15. Erin Lembke on December 19th, 2012 1:09 am

    I have never tried Quinoa – so I am open to trying anything!

  16. Stefania on December 19th, 2012 1:18 am

    I love quinoa! I eat it almost every night cooked in water like rice, with a pinch of himalayan salt then I add tofu and kale or spinach.

  17. Todd Bliss on December 19th, 2012 1:32 am

    I would really like to try the double chocolate chip cookie recipe.

  18. Briana on December 19th, 2012 3:51 am

    It’s gonna sound gross, but I love to eat plain quinoa with fresh pressed garlic, olive oil, and a can of wild planet’s marinara sardines all mixed together. YUM!!!!

  19. Chris on December 19th, 2012 3:53 am

    Quinoa with coconut oil, mixed spices, and peas. Simple. Delicious.

  20. Jan J. on December 19th, 2012 4:00 am

    I haven’t tried quinoa in years but I have been meaning to get some since I recently went wheat free. I didn’t know there was a flour and would love to try to use some to make bread!

  21. Dawn on December 19th, 2012 6:34 am

    I don’t have a favorite recipe yet. I have been making up my own thus far. I am having great results but need help. Right now I am collecting recipes. After the first of the year I am going gluten-free. So is my family but they don’t know it.

    Dawn

  22. C.M. Cole on December 19th, 2012 7:01 am

    I just started using quinoa recently. It’s so versatile.

    I’ve volunteered to help a family in the church convert to gluten free to help their recently diagnosed autistic son.

    This would be a real blessing to us both

  23. Katy Landry on December 19th, 2012 7:44 am

    I love quinoa and live without dairy, gluten, soy and eggs so quinoa has become a powerhouse food for me! The bread on the front looks awesome. Can’t wait to try these recipes! Cheers to new ideas :) merry Christmas everyone!

  24. Elizabeth McFarland on December 19th, 2012 8:31 am

    Quinoa pasta, flour, pearls, have all become invaluable in my kitchen since going gluten free. I would love a great quinoa bread recipe. Anyone?!

  25. donna on December 19th, 2012 9:14 am

    i have only one recipe…quinoa bars and i love the texture so would love to learn to make breads with it! thanks for the opportunity for the book!

  26. Lewaletzko on December 19th, 2012 10:38 am

    We love Quinoa but have not ventured into baking with it. That bread from the cover would be the first thing I would try.

  27. Rebecca on December 19th, 2012 10:43 am

    I’ve been using quinoa for some time as a healthy and protein rich alternative to rice. My two young sons, who may be the pickiest eaters in the world, have developed an unknown food allergy and we have had to go gfcfsf. Finding baking recipes like quinoa molasses cookies make the transition easier!

  28. Susan on December 19th, 2012 2:29 pm

    Hi Shirley,
    You are right when you say that many people don’t know about quinoa until they go gluten free. I’m one of them. I would be pleased to win this cook book and expand my quinoa recipes beyond eating it like rice. I keep hearing about amazing quinoa salads and would like to try making one of them.

  29. Mindee on December 19th, 2012 3:17 pm

    My favourite recipe with quinoa is a terrific chocolate cake that is almost like a brownie. My non-GF friends and family rave about it! I love quinoa!!

  30. Janis S on December 19th, 2012 3:30 pm

    I’ve tried cooking with quinoa, but haven’t had much success. Having this cookbook to help me would sure be great. The bread on the cover looks great!

  31. Lily on December 19th, 2012 3:40 pm

    I made a quinoa salad that I loved, but I’m always on the lookout for new recipes!

  32. Melinda Dixon on December 19th, 2012 3:55 pm

    I so hope I win the free quinoa recipe e-book as it sounds awesome! Right now my favorite quinoa recipe is to soak overnight 3/4cup red quinoa, slice length-wise and carmelize one onion in butter (I like goat butter), add one diced homegrown portobellow mushroom sauteed, then pour in the rinsed red quinoa with enough water to cook the quinoa for 15minutes making sure to scrape the bottom to get all the carmelized onion flavoring spread throughout the dish, salt and pepper to taste and enjoy!

  33. Cindy W. on December 19th, 2012 5:22 pm

    I have been incorporating more quinoa into my diet. Thank you for the giveaway.

  34. April on December 19th, 2012 5:53 pm
  35. Leslie on December 19th, 2012 6:54 pm

    I love cooking quinoa in the pressure cooker. 1 cup well rinsed quinoa to 1 1/2 cup water. Bring to high pressure, cook one minute then natural release for ten minutes. Comes out perfectly every time!

  36. Christine on December 19th, 2012 8:36 pm

    I want to try making a sweet quinoa salad – I had one a few years ago with orange, cranberries and some kind of candied nut that I would love to try to recreate.

  37. Ricki on December 19th, 2012 8:47 pm

    Just popping in to say I’ve already got the ebook (obviously not entering the giveaway!) and it looks great. There are lots of options for vegans, too. And I’m sure I can easily revise the ones that aren’t yet vegan! :)

  38. JB on December 20th, 2012 4:17 am

    I love quinoa filled Acorn squash, baked! Add a little orange juice for some extra flavor, if you’d like. Yummy!

  39. Jenny @ Creative Cooking Gluten Free on December 20th, 2012 5:42 am

    I love quinoa!! We’ve been using it quite a bit in my veg cuisine class too. My favorite recipe is the quinoa muffins I make, so simple and delicious. I would love to see the recipe for the bread on the cover of the book…looks tasty to me.

  40. Sharon Baridon on December 20th, 2012 10:41 am

    Hmmmm…. My favorite quinoa recipe, love them all but this is one I have when I have left over plain quinoa, sometimes I save some just for this purpose. I mix quinoa with sundried tomatoes in olive oil top with pine nuts and/or hemp seeds, warm it up and enjoy it for breakfast. Warming, yummy and delightfully satisfying!!!

  41. Erin B on December 20th, 2012 11:27 am

    I made a quinoa and chickpea salad with sun dried tomatoes, roasted red pepper, lime juice, shredded kale, and probably some other veggies… it was yummy. I’d love to try baking with quinoa. Whole quinoa or quinoa flour? I guess I could probably make my own quinoa flour from whole quinoa?

  42. lilflower on December 21st, 2012 12:25 am

    I like quinoa as a compliment ingredient (rather than the main ingredient) to add more protein to what is already in the recipe.

    • lilflower on December 22nd, 2012 12:12 am

      Oh, I am so looking forward to trying some of the recipes. Thanks so much!

  43. Johnna on December 21st, 2012 1:02 am

    I like quinoa in many recipes that call for rice. In warmer months, we make a salad with quinoa, black beans and mango.

  44. Cathy B*****y on December 21st, 2012 1:05 am

    I would love to try and to find a great recipe for gluten free Quinoa pancakes and waffles! I have been searching for more than a year and nothing seems to come out right still. still searching!
    Cathy B*****y pbprojecthope at yahoodot com

  45. Cindy W. on December 21st, 2012 2:05 pm

    Thank you so much, Shirley and Alyssa! I am excited to hear I won the ebook. I am looking forward to learning new recipes to use quinoa.

  46. C.M. Cole on December 21st, 2012 7:12 pm

    Thank you so very much for picking me, and for running the contest.

    Thank you, Alyssa, for all your very hard work in creating this book!!

Leave a reply




Related Posts with Thumbnails