Gluten-Free Recipes for the Conscious Cook: A Seasonal Vegetarian Cookbook Review and Giveaway

gluten free, vegetarian, whole grain, recipes, cookbook, Leslie Cerier, Home for the Holidays

Gluten-Free Vegetarian Recipes for the Conscious Cook by Leslier Cerier

Leslie Cerier’s latest cookbook Gluten-Free Recipes for the Conscious Cook:  A Seasonal Vegetarian Cookbook is designed for the gluten-free, vegetarian cook or someone who is gluten free, but wants to add more plant-based, whole grain recipes to their cooking repertoire. Leslie is an organic chef. In fact, she’s known as “The Organic Gourmet.” She embraces what she calls “seed to table” cooking with recipes from her new cookbook like The Ultimate Classic Pasta Sauce and Quinoa and Shitake Pilaf. You can also find her Summer Pasta and Bean Salad recipe on Dr. Mark Hyman’s site.

Admittedly, I was not familiar with Leslie Cerier or her cookbooks prior to her contacting me, but when I read that she was teaching classes at Kripalu, I got excited. Kripalu is a world renowned center for yoga and health located in the Berkshires in Western Massachusetts. My gluten-free friends Melissa (Gluten Free for Good) and Jennifer love visiting Kripalu and rave about the retreat center overall, but they especially rave over Kripalu’s food and all the sessions they’ve attended. The fact that Leslie is a chef who teaches at Kripalu does indicate a certain level of excellence! Leslie will be teaching cooking classes at Kripalu in January 2013; you can see her complete class schedule here.

home for the holidays, gluten free, holidays, gfe As this is our Home for the Holidays event, I asked Leslie to answer the following question:

What foods/dishes mean “home and holidays” to you? 

Leslie said:

“Eating with the seasons is key for me. For the holidays, since I am in New England, I recommend the following recipes [from my cookbook Gluten-Free Recipes for the Conscious Cook]:

Shiitake Soup with Cashew Cream

Amaranth Corn Flatbreads with Artisan and Local Grass-Fed Cheddar

Spiced Yams and Pecans

Quinoa and Shiitake Pilaf

Cranberry Cheery Sauce

Vegetarian Sushi (there is a whole chapter)

For dessert:

Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Brownie

Honey Hazelnut Treats

Pear and Cranberry Crisp.”

This cookbook is Leslie’s fifth work. Previous cookbooks that she authored, co-authored, or edited are as follows:

Going Wild in the Kitchen:  The Fresh and Sassy Tastes of Vegetarian Cooking 

The Quick and Easy Organic Gourmet: Delicious Healthy Meals without Meat, Wheat, Dairy, or Sugar 

Taste Life! Organic Recipes 

Sea Vegetable Celebration

All of Leslie’s cookbooks are well rated on Amazon. One fan said that she loves Leslie’s “earthy style of cooking, full of hearty grains, gentle seasonings, and organic produce.”

You’ll also want to check out Leslie’s website; she has lots of info there as well as many more recipes (such as Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili with Tomatillos and Honey Hazelnut Treats). Melissa’s (Gluten Free For Good) review of Gluten-Free Recipes for the Conscious Cook is also worth a read.  

UPDATE:  This giveaway is now closed. Thank you if you entered and shared your favorite gluten-free, vegetarian meal; I enjoyed reading about those! The winner of the giveaway and her favorite gluten-free vegetarian meal is shown below:

KarenW ~ “Dal for sure!”

One copy of Gluten-Free Recipes for the Conscious Cook is being given away, courtesy of the Leslie and her publisher.

To enter the giveaway:

~ Simply leave a comment telling us about your current favorite gluten-free, vegetarian meal.

This giveaway will end Monday, December 17, at midnight EST.

Shirley
Not just gf, but gfe!

Full Disclosure/Disclaimer: This post may contain one or more affiliate links. If you purchase through them, your cost will always be the same, but I will receive a small commission. Thanks for the support! Read the full disclaimer here.

Comments

36 Responses to “Gluten-Free Recipes for the Conscious Cook: A Seasonal Vegetarian Cookbook Review and Giveaway”

  1. KarenW on December 15th, 2012 8:31 am

    Dal for sure!

  2. Dawn Allen on December 15th, 2012 10:05 am

    I love cookbooks, so of course I want one that suits my eating so well- gluten-free and mostly vegetarian!
    Thanks-

  3. Valerie @ City|Life|Eats on December 15th, 2012 10:19 am

    Not commenting to enter the giveaway as I already own the book, but I wanted to say it is one of my absolute favorite books – I go back to it over and over. Many of the recipes are vegan and many more can easily be adapted to be made vegan too.

  4. nina on December 15th, 2012 11:36 am

    I’d love to win this book! My favorite GF veggie recipe is Millet-Veggie Balls.

  5. Emily on December 15th, 2012 1:52 pm

    I love to make fried quinoa, a healthy and high-protein take on Chinese fried rice!

  6. Marsha A. on December 15th, 2012 1:55 pm

    My favorite gluten free meal is Butternut Squash Curry. This book looks great. Thanks for the giveaway.

  7. Jayne Koch on December 15th, 2012 2:15 pm

    Quinoa stuffed peppers is my favorite. I do have a problem getting enough protein each day so this book would help me come up with more options besides meat.

  8. Kathy Lowe on December 15th, 2012 2:18 pm

    This book looks wonderful! Thanks for the giveaway.

    Last week I made a casserole of assorted rices, quinoa, green apple, butternut squash and savory seasonings. Covered it with a vegan mushroom gravy that my meat eating husband loved!

  9. Adrienne on December 15th, 2012 2:20 pm

    Hmmm… Maybe hummus with flax bread. Or a vegan version of Pakistani Kima (on my site). It’s a curry dish.

  10. Arleen on December 15th, 2012 3:06 pm

    I like to have Certified GF Steel Cut Oats with pure maple syrup, and a clementine on the side to start a great day!

  11. Vicky on December 15th, 2012 3:40 pm

    I was so excited to see the word “vegetarian”! I must check out Leslie’s other cook books!

    My current favourite vegetarian meal is one that has always been my favourite cold weather meal and that is Nut Roast with Roasted Parsnips and other seasonal vegetables – in our house a classic!

    Thank you for the opportunity to win this book and have a wonderful weekend!

  12. Theresa on December 15th, 2012 4:06 pm

    I appreciate the chance to win this cookbook.

    My favorite vegetarian meal is to make mock Rueben sandwiches using tempeh for the corn beef.

    Thanks for all the work you put into educating us with all this gluten free healthy eating.

  13. Diane Eblin- thewholegang on December 15th, 2012 5:26 pm

    I have her book on my iPad. I like her grain to water ratio guide for cooking. Very helpful.

  14. Susan on December 15th, 2012 5:57 pm

    Lately I would say my favourite gluten free meal is a large variety of vegetables, some quinoa or brown rice, a broiled chicken breast, and some fruit for dessert.

  15. Jessica on December 15th, 2012 6:44 pm

    My favorite vegetarian meal right now is a simple omelette with a side of veggies topped with avocado and maybe a little salsa. Oh oh wait some quinoa with roasted zuchinni, peppers, onion, mushrooms tossed with pesto. Yum! would love this cookbook

  16. Amelia on December 15th, 2012 7:43 pm

    I love a big salad with lots of veggie toppings and home made salad dressing!

  17. Cindy W. on December 15th, 2012 10:15 pm

    My favorite vegetarian meal would be macaroni and cheese with tomatoes. Thank you for the giveaway.

  18. April on December 15th, 2012 11:07 pm

    My favorite? Hmmm… I really liked kabocha sqaush with sesame kelp noodles! Thanks for the giveaway!

  19. Allie H on December 16th, 2012 2:59 pm

    This cookbook looks fantastic!
    One of my favorites is cauliflower, carrot, and leek soup sprinkled with ground cashews. So simple, so good. Body warming awesomeness in a bowl . Yum

  20. aprilshowers on December 17th, 2012 10:34 am

    Oooh, I’ve been a vegetarian for 22 years and GF since I was diagnosed with celiac disease 2 years ago so I will definitely be checking this book out. Thanks for the review! One of our favorite meals around here are fried patties made with various vegetables. Last week was cauliflower and feta, recipe from smittenkitchen. Divine!

  21. Rivkah on December 17th, 2012 7:15 pm

    Looks like such a great cookbook! I’d love to win one. :) Right now our favorite vegetarian/gluten-free meals are black beans & rice with all the fixings, and vegan GF mac and cheese. These are my kids’ favorites, so we make them a lot!

  22. C.M. Cole on December 17th, 2012 7:17 pm

    Wow, would be great to own. I’ve agreed to help a family who will be converting their autistic son (at least) to GF in the new year (he was just diagnosed)

  23. Angi on December 17th, 2012 7:24 pm

    I am currently in love with Millet salad with artichoke hearts, sundried tomato, capers, and a dash of GF soya sauce.

  24. JL on December 17th, 2012 7:25 pm

    My favorite is gluten free pizza with pineapple.

  25. Barbara Smith on December 17th, 2012 7:54 pm

    I have only started gluten free about a month and a half ago – so still experimenting with recipes. So far my favorite is probably homemade vegetable soup with all fresh ingredients. We have it about once a week and usually add flax, some type of seeds – sunflower or pumpkin, sometimes slivered almonds. I LOVE MY NEW GF way of life! :)

  26. Amy Nico on December 17th, 2012 8:44 pm

    Gluten free is how I now live and I am feeling so much better. I love sharing new recipes I find with others because I care about their health too. Thank you for all you do!

  27. Sasha Farnsworth on December 17th, 2012 8:57 pm

    I make a meatless sloppy joe using quinoa. We all love it!

  28. Shirley Plant on December 17th, 2012 9:05 pm

    Lentil Shepherd’s Pie is my fav.. I like to top it with mixed white and sweet potatoes..

  29. Teresa on December 17th, 2012 10:09 pm

    Garlic mashed potatoes

  30. Melissa @ glutenfreeforgood on December 17th, 2012 10:25 pm

    Shirley,

    One of these days we’ll be mellowing out together (you, Jennifer, and I) taking one of Leslie’s classes and enjoying the wonderful environment that is Kripalu. =)

    I have the book. It’s wonderful!

    Peace, love, and conscious cooking!
    Melissa

  31. Linda S on December 17th, 2012 10:39 pm

    My veggie stir-fry of baby bok choy, onions, peppers, scallions, shitake mushrooms, broccoli & sun-dried tomatoes over brown basmati rice is one of my favorite GF recipes. This cookbook sounds really good and I’ve also had the privilege of spending 4 days at Kripalu – it’s like escaping to another world and the food is also fantastic! Happy smiling faces is what you see there, including your own. :)

  32. CobyG on December 17th, 2012 11:18 pm

    I love lasagna made with thinly sliced zucchini instead of noodles!

  33. Tina Dowell on December 18th, 2012 7:50 am

    Quinoa stuffed peppers smothered in cheese and tomato sauce!

  34. KarenW on December 18th, 2012 9:21 am

    I can hardly wait to receive this cookbook! Thanks for the opportunity to win!!

  35. Jessica on December 23rd, 2012 11:49 am

    My favorite gluten free vegetarian dish is stuffed bell peppers. Their stuffed with quinoa, pine nuts and spinach… Yum

    • Shirley on December 23rd, 2012 12:41 pm

      Hi Jessica–I’m happy to have you here at gfe, but the giveaway has already closed.

      Shirley

Leave a reply




Related Posts with Thumbnails