Jennie-O Products Review and Giveaway Plus Lots of Gluten-Free Turkey Recipes

Jennie-O, turkey, giveaway, turkey recipes, gluten free, dairy free

Full disclosure: Jennie-O provided free product coupons for me to review these products and also for this giveaway. However, this is not a compensated post and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own.

UPDATE: THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED.  Thanks to all who entered! Congratulations to the following winners who I will be contacting via email:

cheryl ~ “Personally, I love turkey and had it with breakfast. My favorite way to have turkey is turkey stock….to me, there is nothing more delicious. Ok, probably there is, but soup on a chilly or rainy day is really in a class by itself.”

Kimberly Lopez ~ “I have Celiac disease and am always looking for new gluten free recipes. Turkey is a staple in our house.”

Amy Zahniser ~ “I have never heard of spatchcock chicken (or turkey) but it makes perfect sense. We love making tetrazzini with turkey leftovers and make sure we have some inexpensive white wine to use in the sauce.”

When a representative contacted me on behalf of Jennie-O products a while back, I immediately asked about their gluten-free products and then I wanted to know how they ensure those products are actually gluten free given the fact they also have gluten-full products. Here’s the listing of all Jennie-O’s gluten-free products (be sure to look around and click on “see more” if shown because this page is displayed differently in different browsers). And here’s the quick Q & A below on the discussion I had with the Jennie-O rep on what “gluten free” means to Jennie-O.

1) Does Jennie-O do any testing to ensure their products are 100 percent gluten-free?

Yes, Jennie-O Turkey Store does have a testing process as part of our Allergen Control Program.  Jennie-O Turkey Store’s gluten-free products comply with Government standards for gluten-free requirements.  As a proactive control measure, Jennie-O Turkey Store invests considerable time and effort into verifying incoming ingredients, proper formulation, and proper labeling for the products that we produce.

2) How does Jennie-O ensure there is no cross contamination from their products that include gluten?

At Jennie-O Turkey Store, we have administered a strict Allergen Control Program since 1998.  One of our primary goals in this program is to formulate our products so that they do not contain allergens.  If we are producing products that are not allergen-free, those products are identified and segregated in our production processes.

I’ve been buying a few of Jennie-O’s products for many years … ground turkey upon rare occasion (admittedly, when one has a supply of ground venison, there’s not much need for ground turkey … at least not in my opinion), turkey breasts once or twice a year, and the also rare whole turkey (my father has provided us with his bounties of wild turkey most years for holiday meals), and the occasional turkey tenderloin. That last one is purchased from time to time when the Jennie-O turkey tenderloins are on sale and we don’t need a large amount of turkey. I also use them to supplement large meals upon occasion. With some of the coupons I received from Jennie-O, I picked up two packages of tenderloins for our February support group meeting. Not surprisingly, these tenderloins were enjoyed by all. I’ve found the Jennie-O tenderloins to be perfectly moist and very tasty. It’s nice that you can buy them “plain” to season as you wish or already perfectly seasoned if you’d like (flavors include Savory, Lemon Garlic, and Smoked Applewood). Admittedly, I’m not keen on the fact that some of their products list words that sound too “chemical” for my preferences, but I use them so infrequently that I’m semi-okay with that. There’s not a long list of ingredients on most of the Jennie-O products that I occasionally use; I do like that fact. I urge you to do your own review of ingredients before you buy them to see if they fit your requirements. Plus, clearly Jennie-O’s “gluten-free” products are not “certified” gluten free, so you’ll have  to use your best judgment on whether or not they are safe and right for you to consume. The lack of certification is not uncommon in “mainstream” naturally gluten-free products, but I did want to remind you of that for your consideration. 

Maybe you’ve already been looking for some meal inspiration for using turkey, here are some great recipes for you to try:

~ The GFE Mother Lode of Turkey Recipes plus there’s the source of most of the turkey used to create those recipes—my two-ingredient slow cooked turkey breast and my special turkey breast (be forewarned … the latter will most likely make you forsake all other turkey recipes) That amounts to 12 recipes in all, so there are a lot to choose from!

gluten free, dairy free, tetrazzini, casserole, turkey leftovers, Thanksgiving, holiday

But I wanted even more choices for you and I didn’t have to look hard. Here are more great turkey recipes from a number of my blogging buddies! Note that not all of these bloggers are exclusively gluten free, so please remember to use gluten-free versions of ingredients in each recipe if not already noted.

~ Wendy’s (Celiacs in the House) Greek Turkey Burgers with Tzatziki Sauce (Don’t those sound wonderful? You know how I like recipes with fun words in them, and I’ve never “met” anything Greek that I didn’t like!)

~ Alisa’s (Go Dairy Free and Alisa Cooks) Homemade Turkey Breakfast Sausage (no need to find nitrate-free sausage, simply make your own!), Creamy Thai Tomato Soup (a “failed” lettuce wraps recipe became amazing soup), and Sloppy Jose’s over Polenta (this older post is worth it not just for the recipe, but also for Alisa’s fond memories of her grandfather)

~ Alta’s (Tasty Eats at Home) Turkey Enchiladas (enchiladas rightfully get everyone excited!) and Tomatillo Turkey Chili (this recipe wins on the title’s simple alliteration alone)

~ Diane’s (The Whole Gang) Roasted Spatchcock Turkey (Yep, another fun word/cooking concept involved and  a very fast and tasty way to cook a turkey indeed! the recipe title in Diane’s post says chicken, but the recipe itself includes directions for either chicken or turkey.)

~ Ellen’s (Gluten Free Diva) Italian Meat Loaf with Asiago Cheese (Cooked in the Pressure Cooker) (You want good meat loaf and you want it fast … Ellen has the answer for you!)

~ Lydia’s (The Perfect Pantry) Smoky Turkey, Black Bean, and Corn Chili (Lydia is the queen of all things soup over at her other blog, Soup Chick, but this time she’s dishing up delicious spoonable “grub” at The Perfect Pantry. I love how she tells you how you can create soups by adding extra liquid to a favorite stew or pasta dish.)

~ Melissa’s (Gluten Free for Good) Festive Red Chile Enchiladas (Melissa shared these for our Home for the Holidays … Gluten-Free Style event because her family enjoys this dish during the holidays, but there’s really no “wrong” time for such goodness!)

All of these ideas lead to the giveaway so you can pick up some turkey with some help from Jennie-O. Jennie-O is giving three gfe readers $25 worth of coupons (six $5 off coupons). Read on …

Okay, even though it’s March, let’s talk some turkey now. I’ve always thought that turkey doesn’t get its due anyway. I’m a fan of turkey throughout the year, not just during the fall and winter holidays. Hopefully, you are, too! All you have to do to enter the giveaway is leave a comment stating your favorite way to use turkey. I get some of my very best recipe ideas and menu ideas from you guys, so I look forward to your comments. That’s all that’s required to enter this giveaway. If you want to share the giveaway with others (who doesn’t need some free “buying power” at the store, right?), you can share the giveaway on Facebook, Twitter, and/or your blog and leave a separate comment for each for extra chances—those are optional entries. This giveaway ends Sunday, March 25, at midnight Eastern.

Shirley
Not just gf, but gfe!

Full Disclosure/Disclaimer: This post may contain one or more affiliate links. If you purchase through them, your cost will always be the same, but I will receive a small commission. Thanks for the support! Read the full disclaimer here.

Comments

71 Responses to “Jennie-O Products Review and Giveaway Plus Lots of Gluten-Free Turkey Recipes”

  1. Deb G on March 23rd, 2012 8:01 pm

    I love to make Turkey melts with lots of cheese on my gluten free bread!

  2. Nancy Keay on March 23rd, 2012 8:07 pm

    I LOvE to make BLTTs…..Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato, and Turkey!!

  3. Elaine O on March 23rd, 2012 8:16 pm

    The latest Biggest Loser cookbook has a recipe for “chicken pucks” that I tweaked to make gluten-free “turkey fingers”

  4. Shari H on March 23rd, 2012 9:21 pm

    While sliced deli turkey (smoked or honey) is a staple for sandwiches in our home, I also love using the Jennie-O Italian Turkey sausage as the main ingredient in lasagna. Turkey breasts and tenderloins also work great in stir-fries.

  5. Jessica on March 23rd, 2012 11:04 pm

    With ground turkey I like to make asian lettuce wraps and meatloaf, among other great recipes. I also love to put a whole breast in the crock pot for an easy turkey dinner and then use those leftovers for shredded turkey enchilads. YUMMO

  6. lindsey on March 23rd, 2012 11:15 pm

    i love to make my own turkey meatballs! yum!

  7. Shari on March 24th, 2012 9:21 am

    My all time favorite use of turkey is Wild Rice Turkey Chowder.

  8. Ina Gawne on March 24th, 2012 11:08 am

    Yummmm…we love turkey throughout the year too. Your Turkey Tetrazzini sounds wonderful! Once in a while we can get free range turkey breasts – great to marinade!

  9. DianneA on March 24th, 2012 11:38 am

    Shari needs to post the Wild Rice Turkey Chowder. It’s rainy today, and that looks like just the right antidote.

  10. cheryl on March 24th, 2012 12:29 pm

    Personally, I love turkey and had it with breakfast. My favorite way to have turkey is turkey stock….to me, there is nothing more delicious. Ok, probably there is, but soup on a chilly or rainy day is really in a class by itself.

  11. Amy Zahniser on March 24th, 2012 12:47 pm

    I have never heard of spatchcock chicken (or turkey) but it makes perfect sense. We love making tetrazzini with turkey leftovers and make sure we have some inexpensive white wine to use in the sauce.

  12. katrina on March 24th, 2012 12:54 pm

    We make turkey meatballs and turkey chili!

  13. Cindy W. on March 24th, 2012 12:55 pm

    I love to make turkey tetrazini (not sure if I spelled that correctly) with my leftover turkey. It’s a meal I have made since my children were young. I’ve changed it to make it gf now. It’s the perfect meal to make for someone who is ill because it freezes really well.

  14. GerriC on March 24th, 2012 1:54 pm

    We so enjoy the tenderloins. We grill them for supper, then my husband uses the leftovers for his lunches. We have also make sausage out of ground turkey that we really enjoyed.

  15. Judy Klemm on March 24th, 2012 1:57 pm

    This is a variation of a paleo soup made with chicken only with leftover turkey! Turkey/chicken stock, shredded turkey, heat together serve with a nice helping of cilantro, cut up avocado, a smidgen of jalapeno peppers. Delish!

  16. Heather on March 24th, 2012 2:13 pm

    I like to use 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 ground turkey in my meatloaf. Keeps it leaner and no one notices a taste difference!

  17. Heather on March 24th, 2012 2:18 pm
  18. Melissa @ glutenfreeforgood on March 24th, 2012 2:32 pm

    Hi Shirley!
    Sage-infused turkey burgers are a favorite around our house. And of course, enchiladas, whether made with turkey or chicken are another family tradition. Thanks so much for linking to my enchilada recipe!
    PS Your 2 ingredient slow cooked turkey breast recipe sounds awesome!
    Melissa

  19. julie on March 24th, 2012 4:19 pm

    My favorite way to use turkey is ground turkey for nachos or nachos

  20. Susan on March 24th, 2012 4:23 pm

    I know it’s boring, but I love a plain ol roasted turkey!!

  21. Eileen on March 24th, 2012 6:20 pm

    I like to make taco meat (I make my own taco seasoning) with turkey because it is so much leaner. I would love to try turkey sausage, I have the Alisa’s link and will try it tomorrow after I make sure I have all the seasonings.

  22. Michelle on March 24th, 2012 8:16 pm

    #1 is a delicious old fashioned turkey sandwich on Udi’s Chia Millet Bread! #2 is turkey meatloaf, just found the best recipe that adds apples to it, holy yum! The whole family LOVES it!!

  23. Michelle on March 24th, 2012 8:16 pm

    Like GFE on FB!

  24. Nicole on March 24th, 2012 9:35 pm

    My favorite way to use turkey is in sandwiches smothered with (gluten-free) gravy!

  25. Christine on March 24th, 2012 10:31 pm

    Looking forward to turkey on Easter.

  26. Maria McNerney on March 24th, 2012 11:03 pm

    I make turkey meatballs, turkey chili, and turkey meatloaf…all 3 are amazing according to my toddler. ;)

  27. Karol on March 25th, 2012 12:42 am

    My favorite way to use turkey is to make turkey meatballs. We just use gf bread crumbs, eggs and seasonings and bake them in the oven. They come out so juicy and tasty. I also just love making a nice whole roasted turkey for a special dinner with family.

  28. Karol on March 25th, 2012 12:43 am

    I already like GFE on facebook.

  29. Karol on March 25th, 2012 12:45 am

    I shared the contest on facebook.

  30. Ms. M. V. Smith on March 25th, 2012 11:37 am

    Since I am diabetic & gluten-free, I try to be very careful with what I consume. I don’t eat red meat, so I eat a lot of turkey. I use ground turkey in my chili (of course), breakfast casseroles and such, but I also pan-fry my turkey tenderloins (coated in a little seasoned GF flour). I’m the only GFE person in this 4-person household, and the rest of my family thinks they’re eating delicious pork chops! Sometimes I cook for just myself, and other times I cook for all 4 of us. Should I tell them they’re eating turkey? LOL! Keep sending those recipes!

  31. Elaine Prince on March 25th, 2012 2:07 pm

    My family loves turkey chili!

  32. Amy Judd on March 25th, 2012 2:11 pm

    Our family weekly tradition is “Taco Tuesday”. I always use ground turkey for the meat in the tacos. It’s my families favorite!!

  33. Valerie on March 25th, 2012 2:11 pm

    We use ground turkey to make chili, meatballs, meatloaf, tacos,stuffed peppers; basically everything!

  34. Keesha on March 25th, 2012 2:13 pm

    We like to make turkey burgers with all sorts of different seasonings. Our faves are greek-style or with carmelized onions and swiss cheese.

  35. michelle on March 25th, 2012 2:15 pm

    I love to throw it in the crockpot and then do a make your own quesadilla bar with my quesadilla maker there is good gluten free tortilla shells out there its my new staple instead of bread.

  36. Brandae on March 25th, 2012 2:16 pm

    I made an apple turkey burger a few years back that was very good. I’d like to try that again with your son’s great idea to use your biscuits or flatbread as the bun. Yummy!!!

  37. Kirstie on March 25th, 2012 2:17 pm

    Turkey meatballs are a HUGE hit in my house. I love that they go well with red sauce, cream sauce, or just a sprinkle of parm and a salad :)

  38. Kirstie on March 25th, 2012 2:19 pm

    Also shared on FB!

  39. Kimberly Lopez on March 25th, 2012 2:47 pm

    I have Celiac disease and am always looking for new gluten free recipes. Turkey is a staple in our house.

  40. Heather on March 25th, 2012 3:00 pm

    Turkey burgers & meatballs

  41. Stacey on March 25th, 2012 3:07 pm

    I use ground turkey wherever I would use ground beef and turkey cutlets in any recipe that I would use chicken in!

  42. Kim on March 25th, 2012 3:08 pm

    I love to make turkey quesadillas and smoking the whole turkey!

  43. Stacey on March 25th, 2012 3:08 pm

    Already like GFE on facebook!

  44. Amy on March 25th, 2012 3:09 pm

    We love marinated turkey tenderloins on the grill. I also couldn’t live without turkey Italian sausage on pizza!

    Thanks for the great blog!

  45. CathyS on March 25th, 2012 3:32 pm

    I make meatloaf, meatballs, and wimpies with the ground turkey…yummy!!

  46. Deanna on March 25th, 2012 4:02 pm

    Love, love, love the turkey sausages (both the hot and sweet). I use them in eggs for breakfast, for turkey meatballs in spaghetti sauce, and chopped up in stir fry. Big fan!

  47. Maura on March 25th, 2012 4:21 pm

    I like turkey with mashed potatos! I like turkey sandwhiches too!

  48. Kim on March 25th, 2012 4:35 pm

    Turkey sausage and turkey bacon are great additions for breakfast foods!

  49. Janet Lewis on March 25th, 2012 4:38 pm

    We love turkey chili in the crockpot with homemade chili seasoning.

  50. Janet Lewis on March 25th, 2012 4:39 pm

    I like gfe on facebook

  51. Janet Lewis on March 25th, 2012 4:40 pm

    I follow gfe on email also

  52. Jentri King on March 25th, 2012 5:26 pm

    I don’t use turkey much other than for sandwiches and the traditional thanksgiving version I’m excited to try some other variations though.

  53. Jentri King on March 25th, 2012 5:32 pm
  54. Ellen (Gluten Free Diva) on March 25th, 2012 5:46 pm

    What a wonderful round up of recipes. Not sure where to start – they all look so good. Thanks for including me Shirley!!!!

  55. Catherine on March 25th, 2012 5:48 pm

    Like you, we usually have a freezer full of venison, but when it starts getting low, I love to use ground turkey especially for chili, spaghetti, or tacos!

  56. Catherine on March 25th, 2012 5:48 pm

    I get GFE emails.

  57. Arleen on March 25th, 2012 6:03 pm

    Turkey tenderloins make an appearance on our table once a week! Usually pan-fried, but I will try any new
    recipe at least once to mix it up a little.

  58. Jacqueline on March 25th, 2012 6:34 pm

    I like to make turkey sammies just like after Thanksgiving with mayo, lettuce and cranberries!

  59. Jen on March 25th, 2012 8:26 pm

    I love Bobby Flay’s turkey burgers (the recipe is on foodnetwork.com).

  60. kristin w. on March 25th, 2012 10:19 pm

    I use ground turkey in spaghetti sauce

  61. debbie on March 25th, 2012 10:20 pm

    I use turkey for all our family favorite dishes that call for beef. It is versatile, tasty and a wonderful alternative.

  62. kristin w. on March 25th, 2012 10:20 pm

    I already like you on fb

  63. debbie on March 25th, 2012 10:21 pm

    I love the GF Jennie-O products, especially their burgers!

  64. Debbi Does Dinner Healthy on March 25th, 2012 11:02 pm

    I love Jennie-o, we buy it all the time. Their Turkey Ham is a staple in the house, the kids eat it all the time. I love to make enchiladas or turkey salad. Love the leftovers! Great giveaway, thanks!

  65. Sarah M on March 25th, 2012 11:37 pm

    Being from NM we love to use turkey for enchiladas! :) We’re just discovering Jennie-O’s variety of GF products so these coupons would definitely be useful. Thanks for another wonderful giveaway, Shirley!

  66. Sarah M on March 25th, 2012 11:47 pm

    shared to FB

  67. dani lassen on March 25th, 2012 11:56 pm

    My pre G-free days were made happier with cranberry,cream cheese, turkey etc on a croissant…..mmmmmm…..I still the turkey, cream cheese and cranberry combo any way…even on a lettuce leaf ;)

  68. Amy Zahniser on March 26th, 2012 7:29 am

    Thanks for the Jennie-O coupons! My teens will be thrilled since we normally have turkey only a few times a year. Thanks, Shirley, for this wonderful blog with all of the information and recipes for those of us with celiac and/or gluten intolerance (we have both).

  69. Kimberly Lopez on March 26th, 2012 7:46 am

    Wow, I won. Thank you so much for blessing my family. I can’t wait to prepare some more turkey for my family. Have a blessed day.

  70. cheryl on March 31st, 2012 6:58 pm

    Thanks so much, Shirley! It’s always fun to win something. I missed out on having a whole turkey last Thanksgiving so maybe this is fates’ way of saying it’s time!

Leave a reply




Related Posts with Thumbnails